Summer Share the Wealth Chicago: Welcome to Insanity: The Challenges of a Psychiatry Residency, with Dr. Nima Sheth

by Mark Chmiel

I am starting my third year of psychiatry residency training. During this Share the Wealth,  I would like to share some eye-opening experiences I have had with patients during my training. I would also like to share some of the challenges that exist when trying to create space for social justice in the field of psychiatry. I will share some stories and poems intermittently that I hope speak to some of all of your experiences as well. Most of all I hope that all of you share your stories and challenges in your respective work too!

Join us
Saturday 26 July
Potluck dinner begins at 6:00 pm.
Nima begins sharing at 6:45
At Nima and Matt’s home
5256 S. Drexel Ave.
Unit #3D
Chicago 60615

 

 

For almost two years, we have been meeting on Sunday nights in and around our Forest Park Southeast neighborhood in Saint Louis for  potluck dinners, presentations by friends of mine and lively discussions.  I call it “share the wealth” because while most of us do not have lots of economic wealth, we all have the wealth of our questions, experiences, passions, travels.

These evenings often have their origin at cafes where I visit with friends and in the course of our discussion, I will see a brightness about someone’s face as he is telling me about what he holds dear.  It’s hard to resist asking, “Would you be willing to share with us sometime?”

I know many wonderful people whom I got to know through SLU who live in the Chicago area.  I would like to have such share the Wealths every season (summer, fall, winter, and spring).  July 26th with Nima will get us started.

I would love to see you come and join us, if your time permits, and also consider sharing with us at some point.  And feel free to bring a friend or two.

I can guarantee you will be meting some of the best people I know.

If you want to see the range of what we’ve talked about in Saint Louis, go here.

 

